Skip to main content

Cover Story

The milky way

Camel Milk

Filled with nutrition, camel milk can be an ideal dairy choice for lactose-intolerant and diabetic people

By Siddhi Jain

October 4, 2019 (IANSlife) Camel is known as the ship of the desert. And its milk is known to have been an important source of nutrition for nomadic communities in the desert since ages. In 2016. Delhi-based Aadvik Foods started selling camel milk in the country, thus providing the same nutrition to those living in cities like Delhi and Bengaluru.

A year later, the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) included camel milk among food items, though the Indian Council for Agricultural Research (ICAR) had long listed its medicinal benefits in conditions like diabetes, liver and kidney disorders, autism. Aadvik Foods founder Hitesh Rathi elaborates on the benefits of consuming camel milk.

Aadvik Camel Milk Powder
Aadvik Camel Milk Powder

 

1. How is camel milk different from that of a cow or buffalo?
Camel milk is richer than cow's milk in calcium, iron and vitamin C. It contains 10 times more iron and thrice more vitamin C than cow's milk, helping in the overall growth of the body. Camel milk can be consumed by lactose-intolerant people and those allergic to cow's milk. Researches all over the world show that camel milk benefits people suffering from autism. It helps in gut healing, reducing hyperactivity and improving behaviour. It contains natural insulin, and is therefore beneficial for diabetics. 

2. Where do you source it from?
We procure camel milk directly from the camel breeders in remote areas of Rajasthan and Gujarat. There is no middleman involved, we deal directly with the farmers and pay them digitally. The shelf life of camel milk is low, but once pasteurised, it is kept in frozen condition till it is delivered to the customers. Freezin can increase its shelf life up to two months.

3. Where all can camel milk substitute cow/buffalo milk?
Camel milk can be used like any other milk to prepare tea, coffee, ice creams, chocolates, desserts and smoothies, but making curd out of it is difficult. It can also be consumed by most people allergic to cow's milk. 

 

(This article is website exclusive and cannot be reproduced without the permission of IANSlife)

Siddhi Jain can be contacted at siddhi.j@ians.in

Editing by Ritu Pandey and N. Lothungbenbi Humtsoe