Skip to main content

Cover Story

Sushma Seth wins META Lifetime Achievement Award 2023

Sushma Seth

To be felicitated at award ceremony on March 29 at Kamani Auditorium in the Capital

By Sukant Deepak

March 12, 2023 (IANSlifeThe Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards (META)  2023 Lifetime Achievement Award will be conferred on stage, film and television actor Sushma Seth, who will be felicitated during the award ceremony on March 29 at Kamani Auditorium in the Capital.

Teamwork Arts and Mahindra Group have also announced the jury members -- theatre director Amal Allana; theatre and film actress Arundhati Nag; award-winning theatre director Bruce Guthrie; theatre director Neelam Mansingh Chowdhry; Sangeet Natak Akademi Award recipient actor Mohan Agashe; award-winning theatre artist and actor Shernaz Patel; and Director of India Habitat Centre and President of the Delhi Music Society Sunit Tandon.

The announcements come ahead of the week-long META and Festival to be held from March 23 to 28 in the Capital ten-shortlisted plays will be performed.

Over 400 entries representing languages like Assamese, English, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Marwari, and Tamil were received.

This year’s Lifetime Awardee, Sushma Seth started her career in the 1950s, and was a founder member of the Delhi-based theatre group Yatrik. Her first movie was 'Junoon' (1978) and is known for her role as ‘dadi’ in the TV soap ’Hum Log’ that aired in the 1980s.

Jay Shah, Head, Cultural Outreach, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd, said, “We are thrilled to confer the META 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award on Sushma Seth, a veteran of the stage who understands the complexity and nuances of theatre and has in fact lived the craft fully through her vast body of work.”

Sanjoy K. Roy, Managing Director, Teamwork Arts & Festival Producer, added, “META 2023 will present awards in 14 categories including the Lifetime Achievement Award. The 13 competitive categories are for Best Play, Best Director, Best Stage Design, Best Light Design, Best Innovative Sound Design, Best Costume Design, Best Actor in a Lead Role (Male), Best Actor in a Lead Role (Female), Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male), Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female), Best Original Script, Best Ensemble and Best Choreographer.”



(This article is website exclusive and cannot be reproduced without the permission of IANSlife)

IANSlife can be contacted at